About the MEDEA Awards

Aim of the MEDEA Awards

The aim of the MEDEA Awards is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media (audio, video, graphics and animation) in education. The awards also recognise and promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning and teaching materials, resources, tools, processes and services.

In recent years there has been remarkable interest in the creation and use of digital video and audio in education, boosted by the increasing impact of multimedia and video based websites and the widespread availability of mobile devices with increasing imaging capacity. The pedagogical vision is clear: it is only when video and audio are routine components of education and online learning, that we will have an educational environment that reflects the media-rich world in which our learners now live.

Participation Guidelines

Before submitting your entry describing a multimedia production, resource, process, tool or service, we strongly recommend that you read the Judging Criteria to understand what the judges are specifically looking for and the criteria they will use when judging your submission, as well as the Terms & Conditions of submission, where you will find the rules for participation in the MEDEA Awards. Read also the important Copyright Information page.

Entries need to be submitted via the online submission form and sent to the MEDEA Awards Secretariat via post, e-mail or fax to arrive before or on the closing date: 31 May 2021 (midnight). All shortlisted finalists will be notified in early September 2021 and will be invited to take part in the Awards Ceremony taking place later on in Autumn 2021 where the final winners will be announced.

The MEDEA Awards

  • The MEDEA Award for Best Educational Media entry. This award will be awarded to the best professional or user-generated educational media product, resource, tool or service produced in the higher education, continuing education and/or training sector.
  • The Special MEDEA Jury Prize. The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.

History of the MEDEA Awards

MEDEA Awards 2008 statuette with hardware and software prizes in the background

MEDEA Awards 2008 statuette with hardware and software prizes in the background

The MEDEA Awards were launched in November 2007 and have been an immediate success with submissions sent in from across Europe and beyond. Over the years, several new awards have been introduced, recognising and rewarding different aspects of the field of media in education and its importance in a European context. Since 2010 the MEDEA Awards are also integrated in the Media & Learning Conference, a conference bringing together practitioners and policy makers and highlighting the latest developments, services and digital and media competences in education and training.

From 2012 to 2014, the MEDEA Awards were supported by the Lifelong Programme of the European Commission through the MEDEAnet project. Two previous European Commission funded projects expanding the reach of the MEDEA Awards were called MEDEA:EU (2008-2011) and MEDEA2020 (2010-2012). From 2015 onwards, the MEDEA Awards have been supported by the Media & Learning Association. You can find more about previous winners and the past competitions on the yearly overview pages of our website.

Sponsors and organisers